The 5-Week Author Blog Challenge 2015 – Day 8

Prompt 8:

Who is your favorite literary character? With which literary character do you most relate? Which literary character would you most like to invite for tea/coffee? What would you ask him/her? What do you think you could teach him/her?

My most favorite literary character is also my alter ego, at least she was in high school. I tend to think of her with a more motherly affection now, though the character is till very close to my heart. That is Modesty Blaise.

MD fan art.

I wanted to be as tough as she was, I wanted to be as tough and as beautiful as she was. I wanted to be as tough, and beautiful, and interesting as she was.  I suppose I related to her because of who she was and who I wanted to be.

I would love to have coffee with her, or even with her sidekick Willie. Though I would venture they would be more apt to drink tea.  I don’t know that there is a set conversation i would want to have with them, nor do I think I would have anything I could teach them.

Other characters that I have loved deeply might be any of the Greek gods as depicted in D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths. It was (and remains) a favorite book. I loved the illustrations as a child and spent amazing amounts of time reading and re-reading this book.  I loved the characters in Geek Love, but am not sure if I want to meet them, I think I would be better off just observing them, they do both intrigue and scare me.

swirly

OK, so today my hat tip goes out to the Interpreter of Inspiration.  I loved that post, curse words and all. I think she nailed exactly what I love about complex characters. I have also added her suggestion of Tigana to my Amazon wish list!

One thought on “The 5-Week Author Blog Challenge 2015 – Day 8

Leave a Reply

