the integrity of your own mind – 342/366

How am I expanding my mind?

“The Awakening” by Hy Mayer in Puck Feb. 20, 1915

According to this Wiki-How page I should embark on at least the following:

  1. Train my mind. …
  2. Read books. …
  3. Write. …
  4. Ask questions. …
  5. Start Experiments. …
  6. Exercise my mind. …
  7. Be adventurous. …
  8. Start thinking.
  9. Meditate
  10. Be disciplined
  11. Help others
  12. Test myself under pressure
  13. Get rid of bad feeling and memories
  14. Exercise

I want to assume that I do not have to embark on a course that includes every single one of these!  However, I do have one objection to the list – getting rid of bad feelings and memories. Those are majorly transformative experiences and to leave them behind seems ridiculous to me. Now, I am not saying we have to dwell in them, but finding the positive in them is something I think is unbelievably vital to being human. I guess I would rephrase number 13 to read  “Turn bad feeling and memories into positives”.

Does that make me a Pollyanna? Gawd, I hope not!

Here are some thoughts on each one of the above;

  1. Train my mind – I suppose I do this, but it seems silly to me.
  2. Read books – or listen!
  3. Write – like this 366 posts crap I am doing is an example
  4. Ask questions – NON-Effin-Stop questions
  5. Start experiments  – yes, this too – often they are not in controlled environments and purely anecdotal!
  6. Exercise my mind – I rock the brain burpees (wtf)
  7. Be adventurous – I am pretty sure I do this
  8. Start thinking – does one stop?
  9. Meditate – at least once a day
  10. Be disciplined – Nope, never gonna happen in any traditional way – but in my own way, definitely!
  11. Help others – as much as possible
  12. Test myself under pressure – again, isn’t this living?
  13. Get rid of bad feeling and memories – see spiel above
  14. Exercise – when I feel like it

 

“Nothing is at last sacred but the integrity of your own mind.”
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance

As he recognizes, the narratives that we create through our engagement with hard reality are what give meaning to our existence.

Leave a Reply

