equal parts irritation and cooperation – 329/366

Who is my best friend?

I don’t know that I have a firm grasp on what having a best friend is. With the people who have been in my life and who’ve met some sort of nebulous criteria for that have all ended up not fulfilling the mission (and alternately, I have decided that I can’t meet their criteria). I consider myself, however, to be rich with friends…. friends that serve in a variety of levels of friendly intimacy.

But I am sitting here typing this up and wondering, what is a best friend? I think I would define it as someone who I feel reciprocates a certain kind of loyalty… but I am looking around and wondering if that is just not how it works. If there is some nebulous chemistry between people which sets the stage for a type of bonding that is more permanent than temporary?

“That was our friendship: equal parts irritation and cooperation.”
~ Ransom Riggs, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Leave a Reply

