settle for too little – 296/366 (catch up)

Am I settling for something?

Yes, I am settling on a relationship with my father that is based principally on his demands.  I am kind of done with that.

I have to say that the period of time where having both parents living and feeling like my relationship with both of them was dependent on something was horrible. Thankfully, it was a temporary one with my mother… but as I reflect upon this, why should I let my father get away with being the dictator of our relationship. If I have to love him under his conditions to be able to have a relationship with him, then I don’t know that I really need a relationship with him.

“The biggest human temptation is to settle for too little.”
~ Thomas Merton

Leave a Reply

