when body and soul rise in mutiny against their rigour – 291/366 (catch up)

If I made laws, what one would I make today?

Laws are a tricky word game that for me, are best suited for conversations with friends over a bottle or six of wine.

I am not sure how I feel about this quote from Charlotte…

“Laws and principles are not for the times when there is no temptation: they are for such moments as this, when body and soul rise in mutiny against their rigour … If at my convenience I might break them, what would be their worth?”
~ Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre

Leave a Reply

