umbrella when the sun is shining – 280/366 (catch up)

What is my bank balance?

I can’t believe anyone would suggest this as a question for someone (anyone) to put on-line!!!

Instead, I think I will tell you that if you love to listen to a good story-teller then pick up the audiobook Who I am by Pete Townshend. Yeah, that Pete, from The Who.

The background: I have been busy and almost too busy to read.  So, I decided that I should give audiobooks a chance.  I tried several books and when the writing was beautiful I had to give in to my love of writing and highlighting and marking them, that is just impossible when only listening.  Then Amy Poehler and Tina Fey came into my life. Their memoirs were the big aha moment. I typically hate movie star memoirs, actually I am not fond of memoirs in general. Listening to Amy and Tina, talk about their life, however, was a different thing. It was easy and entertaining. So, I started picking light books and celebrity memoirs.

One afternoon, after just finishing the memoir An Appetite for Wonder by Richard Dawkins (who I think is an ass, and I can say that because I have met him and I did talk to him). Anyway, there appears Pete.

Further background.  I recall my father taking my brother and I to the then UBER popular Hard Rock Cafe in London in 1985 or so. After we were seated I looked up and saw I was seated in the who section. I stared at posters and memorabilia from the Tommy album. I was smitten.  A strange sort of smitten, though. I loved the movie, and the album. I did not own the album and I had only seen the movie once (and that is still, I have only watched it once in high school).

So, I was excited to listen to it. It did not disappoint. I would even say that Pete charmed me, he chuckles to himself as he tells his tale… giving the impression that he is picturing the event in his mind and that he has a certain affection for the people or situation. I also loved that he was honest about himself, at least as much as one can in such a situation.  I looked forward to my times when I was alone on my commutes to and from home, so I could hear him tell me his story. It gave off an essence like I was with a group of folks sitting around a fire telling stories from our youth, holding glasses of wine… the image is cast with an orange glow that is often present in all the photos of people that were taken in the 1970’s.

 

“A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain.”
~ Mark Twain

 

Leave a Reply

