do-overs? 31/365

If I could do today over, I would change????

It is morning, the day is young and I am not the type to think of things in terms of wishing I could do it again and in some weird sense of omnipotence actually feel like I could do it better.

I am a part of a process, a process I call life. I learn from mistakes that one might wish they could have avoided.

I think if I could do any thing over, it might be to relive certain magnificent events. The moment my son was born, the day he went home from NICU, small moments of joy shared with my family.

If I am honest, there might be some of life’s more challenging times that I would like to repeat just to revisit that moment; the day my grandfather died, the day we moved to the USA, the morning I woke up with sleep paralysis, other moments in my life that were difficult and yet formative.

We only seem to learn from Life that Life doesn’t matter so much as it seemed to do — it’s not so burningly important, after all, what happens. We crawl, like blinking sea-creatures, out of the Ocean onto a spur of rock, we creep over the promontory bewildered and dazzled and hurting ourselves, then we drop in the ocean on the other side: and the little transit doesn’t matter so much.
~ D. H. Lawrence 

Leave a Reply

