… (day 5)

One or about the day I celebrated one year of remission I was invited to join a group of women and talk about how fucking important it is to join the pro vaccine bandwagon and make sure our sons and daughters get their vaccinations, specifically the one that will help their bodies fight HPV related cancers. To make the whole thing even more valuable to me I was charged with supporting a program that dealt with cervical cancer detection, treatment, and prevention along the Napo river in Peru. While the Ecuadorean in me will always be suspicious of Peru, I do know and love the Napo River. So I ran to this group and pleas the case. The group is a chapter of Dining For Women. I was blown away; the room was filled with smart and thoughtful women that were enjoying themselves and supporting vetted programs around the world. Tonight, I did this again, only as a member. 
I learned the chapter has a wide range of members, though all women. I also learned they call themselves Wining for Women… And even got a semi temporary name tag.

The idea is that you and your friends gather for a potluck and learn about and donate to a charitable organization that’s been screened by the umbrella organization. This group of women are a hoot, and I felt so honored to be included and invited.

  

One should always be drunk. That’s all that matters…But with what? With wine, with poetry, or with virtue, as you chose. But get drunk.      ~Charles Baudelaire

The parent organization;  http://diningforwomen.org/

Leave a Reply

