Shout, shout, let it all out (day 32)

The Day 32 prompt is:

Time for some shout-outs. This may mimic your acknowledgement page, but whom would you like to publicly thank for their help in creating your book or completing it to the point where it is presently?

As I ponder why it is that I have reached this certain place in my writing I have several people to thank.

 

My son, who allows me to keep magic realism alive. The other day we were walking and I was telling him that I wanted to show him where I grew up because it is so magical. He turned to me, puzzled and asked what that means. I told him that “it is in everything, the way the sun rises and sets at what seems like the same exact time every day… the way an evening fog will roll in and make everything seem so mysterious, it is where fences grow. “He stopped and asked, “the fences grow?” I told him that they will “cut slats of wood and will use them to build the fence, and those that are dug into the earth will start to grow branches and leaves.” He understood what I meant by magic. He allows me to bring that to him, here is the beautiful dusty desert that we live in now.

My husband, with his rigorous Austrian ways promotes a certain discipline for doing things that we enjoy. That discipline and work ethic is to be envied and emulated. I am not sure he understands magic realism, but he fully supports me imagining it.

My mother, a fine editor and academic story-teller.

My friend Bill, who has an amazing ability to pull out a story in days. His getting started  on his stories prompted me to work on mine. His first book bring a lot of magic realism in to it, though I am not sure if he would agree, though it is possibly allegorical since he is, after all, a philosophy  major. He has often offered me tips and strategies  that have worked for him. I think he is responsible for me getting as much down as I have.

My friend Kelli, the first time I met her she was at a party taking pictures of Nepalese momo’s and I remember her with her camera to her face talking to a group of people following her around the party about where she was in her first book. She mentioned she had a blog at that time, so I found it and started following her in my feed reader. I that party was the first time that I thought I could actually do this book writing thing. She is now working on her second book, I am very excited for her!

Leave a comment