The 5-Week Author Blog Challenge 2015 – Day 5

There’s a Stephen King quote that says:

“If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.”

How do the things you read impact your writing? What do you love to read? What do you avoid reading at all costs? How would your writing change if you read more of the things you typically avoid?

Style, I think is what impacts me most… those occasional authors that have a real and present voice in their stories. If I find one that is exceptionally striking I find that I tend to “try it on” for a bit, to see how it shapes what I have in mind and the stories I want to tell… I think of it a lot like a child imitating a parent (though in this case it is more of a peer to peer thing). I have seen it annoy people when I do that, but I think it is all a part of finding and developing one’s own voice.

I love to read magic realism, give me Gabriel Garcia Marquez and I am happy. I love young adult and children’s books. I love illustrated books and recoil when I hear people making fun of those as if they were somehow lesser forms of literature.  I think these two often share so much in common. They both tend to incorporate a hero’s journey into the story, there is redemption and learning.

From the Magic Realism Wikipedia page

I do not like reading horror, ironic to write under a Stephen King quote – I am ok with psychological thrillers but horror – not for me… life is way too short to scare myself. I don’t like the way I feel after dealing with literature that focuses on ugly human behavior, it shifts something in me that I consider elemental… I get nervous, prone to more anxious states of being, I dream of blood and gore. It is not a pleasant thing for me> I don’t begrudge anyone that enjoys it, though I do wonder how they can manage that inner conflict or even if they get it or are they not affected by it.

I don’t know, I also don’t know if I want to know how this might affect my writing, I am sure it would have an effect though!

swirly

Today my blog hat tip goes out to Merlene Fawdry. I felt in like I was in like-minded company in regards to how we both claimed books from our youth helped shape us! I also appreciated her adoption story posts. I have a cousin who was given up for adoption and with whom we as a family have reconnected. It is such an amazing, difficult, heartbreaking struggle to navigate all these kinds of choices. I think my cousin had an epiphany of sorts about her own adoption when my aunt asked her to read a book written by young women that were sent to homes for un-wed mothers and what that process was like for them. I loved how Marlene tried to be impartial about the home where she was born, and had a change of mind of sorts regarding it and the program. I agree with her that adoption is a rough place with different issues depending on which side of the triangle one is on!  I put her book on my Amazon wish list!

Leave a Reply

