The 5-Week Author Blog Challenge 2015 – Day 1

The Prompt:

What are your goals for the Author Blog Challenge? Do you want to introduce new readers to your writing? Increase traffic to your blog? Get in some extra writing practice? Share your very important message with the world? Use your first post to talk about why you joined the ABC, what your goals are, and what you hope to learn from the experience. In short, let your readers know that you’re participating in the ABC and why.

The Writing:

My goal, I suppose… is to just write. I don’t do much of it physically, though I do plenty mentally. Not the same thing. I may consider sharing what I have written about the story rolling around in my head. I tend to be ok with the mulling about of the story, it seems fitting to rest there, picking up tidbits of details that are not easily forgotten. The story is magical, it is based on my experiences growing up in South America, a part of the world that experiences magic on a daily basis. Some may call the stories of these Latin American authors like Gabriel Garcia Marquez to be illusion, but after being raised in , I can tell you that they are very real… the mists of magic cover everything there… I want to put that into a story.

Blog traffic, a novel idea. not my big priority.

I do, however, want to increase my practice time, this may help!

I joined because I like deadlines, in the sense that I hate them but I like that they make me feel accountable enough that I try to meet them… this kind of event prompts that in me. So here are, hoping something magical will happen and that I will somehow get the hint and start putting my ideas down on paper.

There is a lot going on in my personal life, a seriously ill family member, I am starting a mindfulness course with my son tonight, work, life… but I want to try this. I want to let go. I want to find a stronger voice. I want to go into my second year of being cancer free with more liberty of self.

3 thoughts on “The 5-Week Author Blog Challenge 2015 – Day 1

  1. I really enjoyed your musings, Blaire! And though I’ve never been to South America, my main character has! He may not believe in magic, but I definitely do. Welcome to the Author Blog Challenge!

    Marcie (aka Laura O)

    Like

  2. Blair, it’s fascinating that you say there is magic everywhere in South America. What a great setup for atmosphere in novels. I hope you’ll write a series of novels set in S.A, maybe architect novels or foodie novels, or novels that revolve around an architect who is also quite the cook. “Lush” is my key word, here :-). Please keep musing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

